Meeting with Success - FVO 2017 AGM

by Steven Scott — 5th February 2017.

FVO Banner FVO Banner

Trevor Hoey was returned as President for a second consecutive term at the Forth Valley Orienteers Annual General Meeting in Linlithgow. In the only change to the elected committee, Jason Inman stood down, having completed his term, and was replaced by former Edinburgh University OC secretary Sarah Tullie.

The full Executive Committee for 2017 is as follows;

President - Trevor Hoey.

Vice President - Ross McLennan.

Secretary - Louise Longhurst.

Treasurer - Dawn Goddard.

Ordinary Members - Hazel Dean, Ben Stansfield, Sarah Tullie.

Jason Inman was presented with the Jim Heardman Trophy for service to the club over many years, notably in coaching at both elite and development levels, mapping and liaison with the Forestry Commission over land access. President Hoey announced a new award for 2017, "Friend of FVO" for the non-member who has made a significant contribution to the operation of the club. The inaugural winner was Kate Thomas of Clydeside Orienteers, for her support of the 2016 Junior European Cup as organiser of the long distance race. Trevor said "The great success of the weekend as a whole was guaranteed by the fantastic organisation of the final day led by Kate. When she signed up to organise a Scottish League race, Kate didn’t need the added complications that an international race, an arena with commentary and afternoon flights for the athletes would provide. Forth Valley Orienteers takes full responsibility for adding all of this to the organisers workload, and we are extremely grateful for the support from CLYDE members and from Kate in particular."

The AGM was only part of a busy day of activities, which were widely acclaimed as both fun and challenging, and provided a strong focus for cementing close team bonds for the upcoming season. First there was an indoor team relay to assemble a jigsaw of a local orienteering map, which was won by the junior team of Pierre Lardet, Stan Flint and Callum Curran. Then followed a Score "Treasure Hunt" run around the Linlithgow area. The Short race was won by Rebecca Hammond, Emma, Rachel and Gillian Godfree and Tracy and Hanna Brindley. Another all-girls team, comprising of Eloise Lardet, Annie Smith, Lindsey Hensman and Nicola Gardener won the Medium event, while local knowledge was certainly brought to bear in the success of Jonny Molloy, Mattie Smith and Paul Hammond in the Long distance.

After lunch, mmebers were treated to a talk on race preparation, and a Q&A session with three of the club's international athletes taking the floor. It was interesting to hear the differing viewpoints of Peter and Grace Molloy and Kris Jones as they reflected on where they are in their orienteering careers. Peter stated his goal for the season to be cementing a place on the Scotland Junior team, Grace's aim is to be successful at the European Junior Championships, while for Kris, success would be a medal at the World Championships, having taken two 4th places in the last championship.

The final event of the day, and perhaps the most keenly contested, was a micro-mini orienteering race around the sports hall at the Low Port Centre. Pierre Lardet claimed the junior title, while Kris Jones had to call upon all his sprint skills to pip Peter Molloy to the senior title.

Related posts

Filed under:  News